• Cyprus Science and Research Centre

    Cyprus Science and Research Centre

    A centre of excellence for science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics (STEAM) education research, science communication and innovation will be established in Cyprus.
  • Our aim is to create the first interactive science centre in Cyprus

    Our aim is to create the first interactive science centre in Cyprus

    Providing education and research resources to the people of Cyprus and Eastern Mediterranean region.
  • Funded by the European Union

    Funded by the European Union

    The project (Phase I) has been funded by the European Union under the Horizon2020 “Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation-Teaming”
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Ioannis N. Miaoulis

President and Director
Museum of Science, Boston

Ioannis Miaoulis

Originally from Greece, Ioannis (Yannis) N. Miaoulis, Ph.D., is president and director of the Museum of Science, one of the world’s largest science centers and New England’s most-attended cultural institution. He came to the Museum in 2003 from Tufts University, where he was dean of the School of Engineering. In 2004, Miaoulis launched the Museum's National Center for Technological Literacy® (NCTL®) to enhance knowledge of engineering for all and inspire future engineers and scientists. In 2015 the NCTL received the National Science Board's Public Service Award. NCTL curricula have reached an estimated 150,000 teachers and 15 million students. In 2011, to transform itself for the 21st century, the Museum launched a campaign to raise $250 million by 2015 and raised $288 million.

Other honors include the 2014 American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) President’s Award (jointly with the NCTL), the 2011 ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Ralph Coats Roe Medal, NASA's Exceptional Public Service Medal in 2009, the 2003 Tufts University Alumni Association's Distinguished Service Award, the William P. Desmond Award for Outstanding Contributions to Public Education, the Allan MacLeod Cormack Award for Excellence in Collaborative Research, and the Presidential Young Investigator Award. Testifying before U.S. Senate and House committees, Miaoulis also built support for the first Engineering Education for Innovation Act in 2010 and 2011, and for the Educating Tomorrow's Engineers Act in 2013 and 2015.



Back to Advisory Board